Commercial Spaceflight And The Dawning Age of NewSpace

Flown Falcon 9 booster hoisted off landing platform | Spaceflight Now

SpaceX rocket technicians offloaded the first stage of a Falcon 9 rocket from its landing platform Tuesday, beginning a pioneering test campaign to verify its readiness for another launch later this year.

The 15-story booster arrived at Port Canaveral, a few miles south of the Falcon 9 launch site, around 2 a.m. EDT (0600 GMT) Tuesday. A heavy-duty lifting fixture moved into place on top of the vertical rocket booster a few hours later, and the rocket was craned off the landing ship around 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT).

Sourced through Scoop.it from: spaceflightnow.com

See on Scoop.itThe NewSpace Daily

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s