Commercial Spaceflight And The Dawning Age of NewSpace

Commercial Falcon 9 launch delayed to Thursday | Spaceflight Now

SpaceX called off the launch of a Falcon 9 rocket from Cape Canaveral on Wednesday to make sure the booster’s supply of super-chilled cryogenic liquid oxygen is cold enough to support the delivery of the 5.8-ton SES 9 commercial communications satellite to an orbit nearly 25,000 miles above Earth.

The launch company said the 229-foot-tall Falcon 9 rocket remains healthy after the scrub. Officials decided to delay the mission 24 hours around 6 p.m. EST (2300 GMT), less than an hour before the scheduled launch time Wednesday.

“Out of an abundance of caution, the team opted to hold launch for today to ensure liquid oxygen temperatures are as cold as possible in an effort to maximize performance of the vehicle,” SpaceX said in a statement.

The launch is rescheduled for 6:46 p.m. EST (2346 GMT) Thursday, at the opening of a 97-minute launch window.

Sourced through Scoop.it from: spaceflightnow.com

See on Scoop.itThe NewSpace Daily

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s